Did You Know?

West Virginia's first capital city was Wheeling.

About Us

Incorporated in 1906 by Circuit Court and named for Mable (Shinn) Scott of Fairmont, wife of the late Cyrus H. Scott, prominent coal operator of Raleigh County.

Population, 1,403; elevation, 1,107 feet; elections held every four years on the second Tuesday in June; officials take office July first.

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2018 State of West Virginia